• Audio Wave Industries Music JOHNNY COLES - LITTLE JOHNNY C


XRCD24 - AWMXR-0006
Op werkdagen voor 17:00 besteld is morgen in huis!
Incl. btw
Catalogus (SKU): AWMXR-0006
UPS/EAN/JAN: 0693692200065
Aantal Discs: 1
Format: XRCD24
Publicatiedatum: 24.6.2010
Label: Audio Wave Industries Music



1. Little Johnny C. 
2. Hobo Joe 
3. Jano 
4. My Secret Passion 
5. Heavy Legs 
6. So Sweet (My Little Girl)

Johnny Coles was not only short in stature but also destined to never become a true celebrity. Despite touring for years as a sideman with jazz giants, he was never destined for a breakthrough as a leader, and even this album under his name should equally be attributed to arranger and pianist Duke Pearson. Nevertheless, it is a fantastic album where the diminutive Johnny gets to show that Miles Davis was not the measure of all things when it came to playing with soul.

In addition to Johnny Coles on trumpet, Leo Wright plays alto saxophone and flute, Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, Duke Pearson on piano, Bob Crenshaw on bass, and Walter Perkins and Pete LaRoca on drums. The result is an exciting blend of obscure material and catchy pieces.

This title is part of a series of XRCD24 releases from the Blue Note catalog and has been remastered by Alan Yoshida, one of the inventors of the XRCD process, from the analog stereo tapes at Oceanway Studios in Hollywood. The sonic qualities of the XRCDs released under the Audio Wave label go far beyond previous digitalizations and, in some cases, sound significantly better than the original LPs. The AudioWave XRCDs are presented in a highly elaborate hardcover booklet with excellent photos and commentary on the recording.

0 sterren op basis van 0 beoordelingen Je beoordeling toevoegen